Camp Ohio
October 17, 2003@8:17 am.

Wow just got back from Camp Ohio and am exausted. But I had a GREAT time.

Before i go into all that is Camp Ohio, let me update about some stuff. Well since last time I wrote, North Carolina workcamp got confirmed - so no workcamp for me this year; Spirit week came and went which wasnt so great this year, not enough cool days where i could wear stuff; I got 9 hours in one week towards career mentorship by hleping all the kids with their tye-dye and name tags for camp; and homecoming came and went with out me going.

So camp ohio. Let me tell you how i got the best group of counselors. It was me, Dani Igo, Sarah Petry (who i didnt really know before camp, but are crazy and mad cool) Dan Ellwood, Andrew Stowe and Dru De La Forte. Yea we had a great time. On the way down to camp we even got to ride in a bus all by ourselves, yup just the six of us and the bus driver. We actually got everthing loaded and unloaded really fast, nad Dru was smart enough to think to put all of our stuff on last so we could get it out first. I had Mrs. Swabb's homeroom for my cabin, which turned out to be pretty good, we all basically got along. I went to Pioneer class first with Dru, which turned out to be really lucky. NOt only did i get to eat applesauce and dump cake, but i also got to stay dry. See it was pouring, no maybe not pouring raining like a monsoon would be a better way to descirbe it. And i only had one sweatshirt so i was lucky becuase i got to stay semi dry, whereas everyone else was SOAKED. So we didnt get to have rec time that day becaue it was so wet so we had a "dance party" haha the girls loved it, we played truth dare, promise or repeat, which is basically truth or dare but with these other parts thrown in - yea it was basically all the girls daring each other to ask out the boys that they liked.

That night the counselors got 3 hours off to do whatever we wanted - but first we had to make a fire, yea right, it had been raining all day!! the only dry wood was these huge logs, so we basically had to sit there for 45 minutes feeding newspaper into the fire to evaporate the water off of the wet logs to make them catch. Well anyways after that was one of the BEST times of camp. Dru and Andrew had the idea to slide down Vesper, which is this HUGE hill behind the girls cabin. So we took 2 matresses from the empty girls cabin and ran up Vesper. Oh my goodness, becuase it had rained so much the matresses just FLEW. I was the only girl who went, and i about died trying to run back to the top of the hill, but w/e it was sweet. THat night i made the stupid mistake of telling all the girls about Chester, the camp ghost. I guess it gets told to everycamper who has gone through in the past 6 or 7 years. So I didn't think it would be such a big deal to tell them the story. Plus they all asked to hear it, so who was I not to tell them. Well anyway the worst thing that could happen did. Like 5 or 6 girls started to cry and say they wanted to go home becuase they were so scared. Oh well all the teachers had to come in and smooth everything over, make everyone able to actually sleep. Man i felt stupid, but oh well.

I had science and Adventure class the 2nd day, which was sweet. I love the zipline so much. I actually got to go twice becuase Sarah didnt want to go. I went so much faster than I had in 6th grade. Mr. Wilson let me run and jump off the platform too. All the kids laughed at me becuae i yelled so loud, but hey I was just having a good time. We had rec time that day becuase it wasnt really raining, so we actually got the whole camp up on top of Vesper. It was sweet, we got all the girls together in a picture with the cross behind us. Yea it brought back good memories. That night we took all the kids on an activity called the Underground railroad where they pretended to be slaves and there were bounty hunters who ran after them. Some of them got really scared becuase it was so dark outside and you could hear all the animals and you werent allowed to talk or anything. Man I would have been sacred if I was their age.

Well we finally got to the last day nad i was in control of the Marvelous Mammals class. Yea it sucked a big one, it was so boring that one of the kids fell asleep in the middle of it. Haha i felt bad for the person sleeping, but she should have known not to just talk for an hour about stuff they already know. We didnt get to ride back on a bus by ourselves, but i got to sit wiht my girls. THey were probably what made it the best, i got to know the girls taht Im going to work with for the rest of the semester so much better and we had so much fun.

not my self


Easter - March 27, 2005
confused - March 09, 2005
confused - March 09, 2005
18!!! - March 07, 2005
1st track meet of 05 - February 27, 2005